Truffle Boxes

January 16, 2009 at 11:44 pm | Posted in Accessories- Designer Series Papers, Accessories- Markers, Accessories- Punches, Events, New Products, Projects, Specials, Stampin' Up! | 3 Comments

mystery hostess prize 1 by you.

I’ve said it before.  I love boxes!  These super cute little things hold four handmade truffles.  Yum!

I’m giving them away as raffle prizes tomorrow at my Mystery Hostess New
Catalog party.  (If I can talk myself into letting them go.  lol)

The basic box is very easy to make.  For the bottom, start with a 5 7/8″ x 5 7/8″ piece of card stock.  Score at 1 1/2″ on all sides with the Paper Cutter, using the Scoring Blade.  Cut up to intersecting lines to form tabs.  Fold up and secure with Sticky Strip.

To make the lid, start with a 4 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ piece of cardstock and do the same thing, except score all sides at 3/4″.  Then cut tabs, fold up and glue.

mystery hostess prize 2 by you.

For the valentine box, I used the Love You Much Bundle.  The focal point is made using the Scallop Edge Punch & the Scallop Circle Punch.  I cut a hole in the lid with the Coluzzle before folding up and gluing.  Then I secured a transparency sheet inside the lid with Sticky Strip.  I love being able to see the sweet treats inside!

 

mystery hostess prize 3 by you.

 

mystery hostess prize 4 by you.

My second box is actually a sneak peek item.  🙂  It features “Yummy”, a Sale-A-Bration set for this year!  It will be available to get for FREE from Feb 1st through Mar 31st this year.  (More about that later.)  I love this set!  It is perfect for people like me who like making homemade goodies and packaging them pretty!

mystery hostess prize 5 by you.

With this box, I wanted even more of the truffles to show through, so I made a completely transparent box lid.  I cut a transparency sheet down to 4 1/4″ x 4 1/4″, then scored 3/4″ on all sides.  This makes the lid smaller than the box so it fits inside of it, rather than over it.  I didn’t want the clear box lid on the outside for two reasons.  One, I don’t yet know about a really good, truely invisible adhesive.  So I used Mini Glue Dots to glue the tabs down.  They work great, but they are too noticeable for me.  Two, I didn’t want the box lid to interfere with my design of the box sides:

mystery hostess prize 6 by you.

 I used my Stampin’ Markers a lot for the sides.  (I used my Stamp-A-Ma-Jig a lot too, because I know I wouldn’t get these all straight otherwise!)  The pretty swirly scrolls on the box sides are part of a large stamp that says “A little Something for you”.  So I simply inked up the portion I wanted with a Basic Black marker and stamped onto my project.  Then I inked just “Yummy” from the “a little Yummy for your tummy” stamp with a Real Red marker and- Voila!  I love the way it turned out!

I really hope the people that win these boxes tomorrow like them!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I can hardly wait for the Mystery Hostess Party!

    Do you also give out truffle recipes?

  2. Those look fantastic!

  3. Gorgeous boxes. The only sad thing is I can’t eat the delish looking truffles – lol!

    Thanks for sharing all the details.

    Hugs and blessings sister demo – Jean


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

