Mini Backpack

September 2, 2008 at 12:55 pm | Posted in Accessories- Designer Series Papers, Accessories- Hodgepodge Hardware, Projects, Stampin' Up!, Technique- Heat Embossing | 6 Comments

I just took my oldest to her 1st day of school!  It was a big deal for the whole family.  After she went to bed last night, I made her a little gift: a mini backpack made of card stock & Designer Series Paper.  I gave it to her this morning and she loved it!

Mary Arima came up with the orginal idea.  Isn’t she smart!  I got my template from dfaust (that’s her SCS name, I don’t know her real name, lol).  Click here to view the template.  She altered the orginal a little & included the measurements.   She also made the entire backpack template fit on one 12×12 sheet of card stock.  Then you just add the small amounts of Designer Series Paper to embellish it.  I got the idea to use clear embossing to create a vinyl look from Susie Nelson’s backpack.

If you have a child in school, you could make one to celebrate the end of the first week (or first month, or first report card, or whatever!).  This would also make a really cute teacher gift!  Click on any of the photos to enlarge.

 Esther's mini backpack 1 by you.

 

 

Punch holes in the back panel and tie the ribbon through for straps before assembling the box!

 

 

 

 

I love this little ribbon slider charm from the Hodgepodge Hardware kit!  I tied a knot in the ribbon, then inserted both ends into the ribbon slider.  After assembling the backpack, I punched two holes in the flap to push the ribbon through.  Then I used Sticky Strip on the inside to secure the ribbon ends.

  

 I tried not to get too much glare when taking the photos.  But I’ll add this one.  It really shows how “vinyl” the Designer Paper looks!  I covered the pieces completely with the VersaMark pad, then poured on the clear emboss powder, and heated.  This gives an all-over shine.  Plus, it makes the backpack (and especially the flaps) a little more sturdy.

I put some candy in the main section, and a little note about how proud I am of her in the little pocket.

I’m really happy with how it all turned out! 

Supplies

Stamp Set: none!
Ink: VersaMark Pad
Paper: Sweet Always Designer Series Paper (new!) & Pink Pirouette (new In Color!) Card Stock
Accessories: Paper Cutter with Scoring Blade, Styled Silver Hodgepodge Hardware (flower ribbon slide), 1/4″ Pretty in Pink Grosgrain Ribbon, 1/8″ Handheld Punch, Coluzzle Cutting System, Clear Emboss Powder, Sticky Strip, velcro

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. The kids are growing up too fast, she looks so grown up! I hope she has a great first day of school! 🙂

  2. Oh, Ruth, that is wonderful! You did such a fabulous job on it, and I bet she *loves* it!

  3. Love the backpack. So cute. Thanks for sharing your version!

  4. I have been going thru the web site to get the template for this beautiful back pack. I have been hitting nothing but wall. When I tried to view the template but was not able to. I would like to start my christmas craft for next year and give the office the mini back back as well as for my niece and nephew class mate. Can you help me in getting or how may I purchase this beautifull template. Thanks Lisa

  5. Lisa, I’m sorry you’ve had a hard time viewing the template. I’ll put just the entire link for you to copy & paste: http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/1032392?si=backpack&perpage=12&thumbsonly=0&thumbcheck=
    I hope that works!

  6. Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of the challenges.

    It was really informative. Your site is very helpful. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

