Convention ’08 – 4th & Final Day

August 28, 2008 at 11:58 pm | Posted in Convention 2008, Stampin' Up! | Leave a comment

The last day was bittersweet.  We didn’t want the fun & excitement to end, but we couldn’t wait for what would come in the last General Session.  We knew the surprises weren’t over.  🙂   We also missed our families & our homes, and couldn’t wait to get back to apply the things we’d learned- in business & in stamping.

On the last day, the classes were first, and the General Session would take place in the afternoon.

Linda Hansen & Carrie Cudney taught great business classes, that also incorporated some stamping ideas.

Next, I had my final Make & Take session.  The projects, again, were fabulous!  But, I was itching to take some photos of the displays around convention before the day (and convention) ended.  So, I quickly stamped the pieces using the new In Colors that I didn’t have at home yet, and saved the rest of the projects to finish once I got home.  I share the display photos in another post.

 Once they began putting out lunch, I grabbed my box and got in line for the last General Session.  I enjoyed chatting with some other early birds I’d met that week.  Here’s Debi signing Dina’s flag.  By the end of the day, the flag was full of autographs, including Shelli’s! 

20-30 minutes before the doors opened, I turned around to get this photo of the lines behind me.

sat 3 by you.

Then, the moment came & we were in!  Dina (who runs like a gazelle!) got us front row seats again!

 

First, Pam Morgan spoke to us about circles & classics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next Carrie Cudney (who I’d just heard in a class) shared some “in the kitchen” projects. 

Here’s her “family recipies” book.  She includes a photo & journaling with each recipe, telling why its a family favorite and the traditions that go along with it.

   

Next, Carrie converted some Pop-Tart boxes into recipe card boxes.

   

And this “cookmark” is so simple, but very cute!  She just put some thin magnets on the bottom, on the front & back, so it would stay nicely in the book.

 

Then, Carrie showed us some adorable gift sets from the kitchen (and the stamp room).  The first is a birthday cupcake set, complete with cake mix, frosting, sprinkles, paper cups, cupcake picks, cupcake boxes!, and a matching card, each with stamped packaging.  Check it out!

   

   

The other was a s’more gift set with a tag made with the new Under the Stars stamp set.

   

Last, Carrie showed us a decorative plate set.  Great job, Carrie!

 

 

After that, Jaron Windor taught us how to make some great themed albums using the new 8-1/2 x 8-1/2 chipboard albums.  This one is an “about me” type of book.  He actually made it for his wife, Teresa.

 

 

 

 

   

   

Oh, then was the much-anticipated convention game show!  This year it was Stamp-tionary!  My friend, Dina was on one team.  I wish I had a good picture of her playing.

 sat 27 by you.

 

Remember that I said I was in the front row?  Well, during the game show, my friend & I watched this guy set up this canon right in front of us.  He pumped air into it, and we knew that something was going to shoot out.  We knew that something exciting was going to happen.  Our anticipation mounted.

 

Then Stampin’ Up! played the cutest commercial I have ever seen!  “Convention Attendee Barbie”!

sat 29 by you.

Notice the details!  I don’t know how they did it. 

   

   

The brunette barbie demonstrator is wearing the exact same green Stampin’ Up! shirt that I bought at the Momento Mall earlier that week.  They both have cute bags full of swap cards.  And did you notice the Decor Elements on the walls?  Those were all over the commercial.  I loved it! 

After the commercial, when Shelli was talking, there was the sound of a doorbell.  And just as it had happened in the commercial, a UPS guy came in holding a Stampin’ Up! box.  But when he announced that the package was for everyone, that’s when the screaming really erupted!

   

On the right side of the room (the side I was on), I saw a flamin’ UPS truck drive out from behind the curtains and UPS workers, and Stampin’ Up! staff in UPS shirts came running out with free stamps!  They gave us Say it with Scallops, the Ronald McDonald House set.  Confetti was shooting out of the canons, everyone was jumping up and screaming.  It was absolute crazy excitement.  I hope i never forget it.  What fun!  Here is what I saw:

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

Crazy Dina!                                   

 

Once the excitement died down enough for Shelli to speak again, she explained that the stamp sets were a gift from UPS!   I <heart> Brown!!

 

 

When the General Session ended, convention was officially over.  Robin, Dallas (a couple of my roommates) & I headed over to one of my favorite Salt Lake City restaurants, the Blue Iguana.

 

 

 

Goodbye, SLC, until next year!

sat 50 by you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

