a wedding card

March 14, 2007 at 12:46 pm | Posted in Projects, Stamp Set- Both Way Blossoms, Stamp Set- French Script, Stamp Set- Print Pattern, Stamp Set- Warm Words, Stamp Sets, Stampin' Up!, Technique- Heat Embossing, Technique- Watercoloring, Techniques | Comments Off on a wedding card

A friend of mine got married last Friday.  She’s a really sweet girl and I wanted to make her a nice card.  But I didn’t have much time because my husband took Friday off so we could do something fun with the kids.  By the time we left Fairytale Town, I knew I had to hurry.  So I planned this card in my head on the ride home and it didn’t take very long at all to stamp.

First, I stamped the Print Pattern background on the Very Vanilla layer.  I heated it with my Heat Tool because I was really hoping that it wouldn’t pick up the embossing powder that I would use on the French Script background.  I even set it aside to dry while I worked on the focal point.  I stamped the roses from Both Way Blossoms (it’s a hostess only set that will disappear the end of June!) and “cherish” from Warm Words in Basic Black Craft ink, then poured Crystal Clear Emboss Powder over it and heated with the heat tool.  Then I colored the roses with an Aqua Painter and Elegant Egglant & Always Artichoke Classic ink.  (I could tell from the invitation that their wedding color was purple.) I punched the corners with the Ticket Corner Punch (I know, I keep using that one!).  My husband suggested I emboss the edges clear, I think it was a great idea! So next I went back to the layer with Print Pattern on it, and I stamped French Script with Black Craft and embossed with clear.  The embossing powder did still stick to some of the Print Pattern, even though I let it dry.  But I still really like the way it turned out. Last, I wrapped a Black Grosgrain Ribbon around the background layer and added a Cream Grosgrain knot.

For the inside, I used the Mini Envelope Template to quickly make an envelope out of Vellum Cardstock to hold the gift card we were giving them.

I think the card looks much better in person, with the embossing all over it, but you get the idea.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

