stamping a pretty table

January 25, 2007 at 8:20 pm | Posted in Projects, Stamp Set- Fall Whimsy, Stamp Sets, Stampin' Up! | Comments Off on stamping a pretty table

 

I was speaking with a friend two days ago and she wanted me to post pictures of my place settings from Thanksgiving.  So, sorry I’m late, but here they are.  I used the Fall Whimsy stamp set for my theme.  I didn’t get to do as much as I had wanted.  Two of my sisters helped me plan and design everything, and had planned on helping me create them, but ended up couldn’t very much that week. 

I made little charms out of Polyshrink.  (sorry, we don’t sell it anymore- you’ll have to find it somewhere else)  First I stamped the image with craft ink, then punched it out with a large circle punch and punched a little hole for the wire.  (For the wine glass charms, at this point I turned the charm over and stamped the first initial for each guest in gold ink on the back with the Classic Alphabet.)  Then, I put the charms in my toaster oven on about 350 degrees for about 8 mins (I think?).  Just watch the polyshrink as it heats up.  It first curls dramatically.  It will shrink it about 30% of the original size.  Then it uncurls and lies flat when it is finished shrinking.  You can also use a heat tool to shrink, but it is easier for me in my toaster oven.  After they cooled, I colored the edges of the charms with the Zig Painty pen.  I put fall-toned beads on brass Wire Works and added the stamped charms.

At the last minute, I made place cards with our beautiful Really Rust cardstock.  I typed each name in a Word document and used the Stampin’ Up! font CD.

While I was making my apple pies, I remembered those cookies Esther & I had stamped.  So I thought, “Why not stamp on pies, too?”  I used the same Fall Whimsy set.  I pressed deeply (but not so deep that it cuts through) into the pie crust before laying it on the pie before baking.  

   

It was a very nice dinner. 

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

