My First Altered Clipboard

October 12, 2006 at 9:32 pm | Posted in Projects, Technique- Altered Clipboard, Techniques | Comments Off on My First Altered Clipboard

 

I’ve seen some great clipboards on splitcoast and for a long time I’ve wanted to make my own.  Yesterday, I finally did it.  (Yes, Tom, that is why the dishes didn’t get done yesterday.)

I bought a normal, boring clipboard from an office store.  Then I measured it and planned my layout.  I figured out the sizes for my papers (all from the new Recollections Designer Papers– love them!!) and cut them out.  Then, I covered the clipboard with a thin layer of Mod Podge and carefully placed the papers.  After it dried, I trimmed the papers closer to fit and sanded all around the edges.  Next, I stamped the initials on the front and the words on the back.  I did about 3 coats of Clear Acrylic Sealer on both sides.  Last, I added the matching ribbons on top.

 

For a really good tutorial with photos for each step, check out Beate’s instructions.  She did her’s a little different than mine, but its good info.

Esther is already asking for her own.  She wants a small one, though.  And only one letter, she said, of course an “E”.

My sister, Debi, had a great idea to try the clear clipboards.  You would want to use Stampin’ Up!’s double sided paper (we have a lot of good ones to choose from).  Anyway, that way, you wouldn’t have to trim your papers to fit around the clip on the front.  And it would still be decorated on both sides (or look like it anyway).   When I get around to trying it, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

